DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Deadlands: The Weird West
by Joseph S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2020 12:43:38

I have been a Savage Worlds fan for over a decade. I have taught all my kids and family the system, and it is my go to system for running and playing RPGs. I missed the original boat for deadlands however. So the fact that this has been updated to SWADE, as well as offering a reboot of the world, allowing new players easy access to the world and the lore is nothing short of amazing for people like me! In addition there are hints of the past history sprinkled in, allowing veteran players to continue their tails into the Weird West.

I love the refactored rules as they are tied to Swade, and really enjoy running this system!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands: The Weird West
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Kerberos Anomaly
by Cornelius W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2020 12:41:10

I was one of the playtesters of this adventure and received a free copy this way. Apart from that, I’m not paid or otherwise compensated for this review.

The Kerberos Anomaly is a dynamic, flexible adventure and doesn’t come with a rigid sequence of scenes. After the intro scene (which is a playable, action-packed scene, not a paragraph to be read to the players), the players have a clear goal and the GM has a collection of NPCs, challenges and encounters to throw at them. The adventure is suitable for a one-shot.

To help the gamemaster and keep the tension, there are random elements to decide what’s going on, e.g. a random encounter table. The encounters are described in a short, but distinct way. That works to give the GM an idea what’s going on without having to read a lot of text or skipping to different parts of the document, so you can just roll on the table and get going - no awkward pauses, hectic read-throughs or obligation to memorize everything beforehand. If the GM thinks the encounter needs to be even more dramatic, there’s the possibility to spend GM Bennies and introduce certain additional complications – good idea!

The adventure includes five pre-generated PCs which are all interesting in itself and made in a way that everyone gets their spotlight without being one-trick ponies.

The included maps should help visualizing the structure of a ship you’re boarding and there’s even a battlemap included if you want to use it. If you liked the game FTL: Faster Than Light, I’m sure you’ll instantly like the ship maps.

What I also really appreciate is that the author took the time and page space to explain how certain elements of the adventure could make sense, so nothing is just suddenly there to give the players something to roll. There are also quite helpful tips for the GM to run the adventure without telling him or her what to do. Given the page count, you probably shouldn't be too surprised that it doesn't feature a complicated background story to discover. So if you're more the investigative kind of group, you might need to come up with something to investigate.

All in all, the structure of the adventure provides plenty of opportunities to introduce both action-packed and calm scenes. I presume GMs used to adventures with paragraphs to read out loud and a set order or scenes to play through might have some trouble with this adventure, but since it says sandbox adventure in the description, you can’t really blame it for that.

I happily recommend it to play it yourself!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Kerberos Anomaly
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Shadowcraft
by Cornelius W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2020 04:55:54

Shadowcraft is an interesting collection of arcane and weird options for stealthy characters. The new Arcane Background also comes with new Powers which gives it a nice twist in comparison to just giving Powers from the core book a nice trapping while they're still balanced.

The table with name suggestions for core Powers, allowed modifiers and ideas for trappings is really neat – good ideas, clear and precise.

Apart from the Powers, there are Weird Edges which (mostly) build on the Assassin Edge and do not require an Arcane Background. Althought I wondered about this at first, it's a good idea to enhance shady characters without forcing them to go a more magical route which might feel like mechanical baggage for some character concepts.

I also have to praise the layout and graphic design of the product. It's clear to read while still looking interesting and giving some shadowy vibes. I really like that!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowcraft
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Deadlands: The Weird West
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2020 09:14:26

This is MUST have for any fan of Savage Worlds! The quality is top notch...nuff said.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands: The Weird West
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Deadlands: The Weird West: Archetypes 01
by Nils K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2020 04:59:04

A very nice collection of Pregens that cover all of the tropey Weird West character you could wish for. I applaud the decision to make them Seasoned, that fits very good for One Shots. Unfortunately there are some questionable decisions in there, like insttead of raising the Rangers Agility and then both skills to use two Advances to improve separate skills? But at least there is a clear description of what happens, so it is easy to adapt if needed. Looking forward to Part 2!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands: The Weird West: Archetypes 01
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Deadlands: The Weird West
by Nils K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2020 04:52:04

The lastest iteration of the original Spaghetti Western - with Meat! It brings all of the rules in line with the current Savage Worlds Adventure edition and updates the background to take into account the "Morgana Effect", the time rippling effect from their new Dark Ages Setting. The production values are wonderful as always, with geat new art that captures the feel of the Weird West. The new timeline has caused some discussion, as Pinnacle has decided to get rid of the CSA. There is a very good reasoning for it on their website, and nobody is keeping you from using the old Reloaded background if you prefer the ongoing War for your games. But I appreciate Pinnacle to take a critical look on their presentation of problematic issues like a valid CSA and their naming and treatement of Native Americans. The only thing I miss is the different colours of Fate Chips, but it was inevitable to get in line with SWADE. It's probably more nostalgia than anything. Long Story short, you can't go wrong with THE iconic setting of Savage Worlds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands: The Weird West
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Combat & Chase Quick Reference Chart
by Jeremy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2020 18:18:40

I bought these in print from Pinnacle. I have a set for every player. Even though they are on card stock I have put them into hard plastic sleeves. That makes them even more useful for the players. These are great aids. I also have some other aids printed out for players that are also placed into hard plastic sleeves. While these did not have everything that a player might want to know rules-wise they are a very good thing to have as a handout.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Combat & Chase Quick Reference Chart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
by Jeremy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2020 18:13:27

I have played many, many systems since the early 1980s after I started with the Red Box Basic Set for Dungeons and Dragons. I have seen some very complex games, some very simple games, and many variations in between. Around 2007 or 2008 I had gotten a pdf of the (then) current edition of Savage Worlds, It seemed to be too simple for my preferences at the time. So I decided to pass on it. I think that I deleted it as I have not been able to find a copy of it.

Around 2009 - 20010 my go-to-game was Mutants and Masterminds. It did some things very well but choked on others. Before that my go-to game was GURPS, which was my go-to for about 10 years. I was not satisfied with either of those. I could not put my finger on what I was looking for, but both of them were not it. Someone in a GM Advice gaming group had recommended Savage Worlds. I decided to give it a try. It became my go-to game since the summer of 2010. Savagew Worlds looks like it is a very simple game in comparison to the games that I mentioned above. However, this is very decieving. It is a very customizable "engine".

Aside from the faster game play, what stands out to me as a GM and a player is the character creatiopn and progression. Like GURPS and Mutants and Masterminds, the same "math" is consistent through the entire character management process (be it creation or advancement). I like how each Advance is worth the same. That is my key dissatisfaction with level-based games such as Dungeons and Dragons. Taking a level in one class is not the same value as taking a level in another, and each level is not interchangeable. For example, say that you have 19 levels in Fighter you cannot take one level in Wizard and be equal to another level 20 character. In Savage Worlds each Edge is worth an Edge. If that is not the case, the Edge needs to be revised.

Savage Worlds fits my preferred play style and my own GM style.

It is designed to be customizeable. If you do not like something, change it. But before you do, consider why it is a rule. There are many times that I wanted to change a rule (especially the first year or two that I played) only to find that the rule as written is actually better than I had realized. It LOOKED like a "dumb" rule but in practice it was actuially a very good rule.

There were sevearl rules that I had tended to use, some of them I came up with on my own independently, in previous editions but they have become the official rules for this edition. That was nice to see that what I had been "house ruling" is now official. As such I really like the new edition and I would highly recommend it over the previous editions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Deadlands Reloaded: Paradise Lost
by Tyler C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2020 12:54:34

Paradise Lost is a great way to spend the 20th Anniversary of Deadlands, the premiere Western RPG! Accept no subustitues. Lots of intruigue in this module, keeps your players guessing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands Reloaded: Paradise Lost
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Deadlands: The Weird West
by Trent S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2020 10:47:54

Pinnacle always produces great content and Deadlands the Wild West book for Savage Worlds Adventure Edition (SWADE) doesnt disappoint.

The graphic design and art is beautiful with well designed layout.

My only criticism of the book is that it hints at what the Morgana Effect is but doesnt give the reader much concrete information. This likely will be explained further in future splatbooks, adventures etc.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadlands: The Weird West
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Savage Robots
by Robert B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2020 14:32:06

Very cool concept. It gives you a great set of options for robot player characters and NPCs that could fit into a bunch of settings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Robots
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Savage Worlds Chase Cards
by David A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2020 07:22:03

What a genuis idea. Makes things so easy when running a chase. Color coding the different actions / things that you can do clarifies things. Even veteran players who've gone through a bunch of chases will find it easier to keep track of their actions.

As a GM who LOVES Savage Worlds because of the toolbox of different subgames, I run a ton of chases. Many times, a Dramatic Task or Chase will be the set piece of my sessions because I prefer action and adventure over pure combat. Using these cards, along with the mat, makes things so much easier. It doesn't introduce anything new, which I like about it, but it clarifies and organizes everything.

Well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Chase Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Modern Monsters
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2020 14:18:48

An excellent bundle of terrors for an urban horror setting! Some unique takes on legends sprinkled with some entirely new threats! Good layout; multiple hooks and a little thread of background story tying many together to build on if you choose to use them! Nicely done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Dungeon Delver's Toolkit
by Cornelius W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2020 05:30:36

Although it’s aimed at recreating old school dungeon vibes, I enjoyed this toolkit without particularly missing any older systems. It brings a good rhythm into exploring dungeons and similar areas, although you should be aware that it changes the severity of Wounds as written in the Savage Worlds Core Rules.

Additionally, it offers setting rules for combat and magic. I can see the combat setting rules work in a lot of settings way beyond dungeon delving. The setting rules for magic are a good idea for adding flavour to the Arcane Backgrounds in your fantasy game.

If you’re into dungeon exploring with Savage Worlds in any setting, this add-on is definitely worth a read!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Delver's Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for the kind words. I truly hope you use and enjoy the product.
Dragon and Raven
by Cornelius W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2020 04:03:20

Dragon and Raven is a wacky gonzo-adventure suitable for a one-shot.

The pre-generated player characters have an interesting variety and Hindrances that are referred to in the adventure in an engaging way. The hook for the PCs is easy enough and makes sense, but doesn't actually force them into a particular path.

With two big issues to deal with and only one clearly stated to the PCs right at the start, the adventure doesn't feel too obvious at all. Since it isn't designed to have a rigid sequence of scenes or encounters and even throws a few random tables on top of that, the adventure is quite flexible and can be run multiple times without feeling too similar – even if the PCs start out with the same approach every time.

You have to like the style of humour, of course, but I didn't find that very hard. I didn't stumble over things that are just weird for the sake of being weird. Actually, I was surprised that all the weird happenenings have understandable reasons and motives behind them. I think you can run most of the adventure with a straight face if you really want that. The maps and assets certainly help to convey the mood and if you're running with maps and tokens, they are very useful.

We enjoyed our stay in Vapoór a lot and I will happily run this adventure again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon and Raven
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 921 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates