DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Scion Second Edition Errata and FAQ
by Paul B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2020 20:38:08

This Errata is woefully incomplete. There are many mistakes (minor in their nature but made larger by their multitude) still present in the final PDF that are not addressed in the errata document.

The overall feeling I get from this compiled Errata is that it's less an attempt at actually addressing all the many problems (most of which are minor typos, I admit) and more an attempt at damage control.

Also, the Origin book (the only one of the two that I've read so far) is not very well written. The order in which the informatin is presented, along with the writing itself, leads to quite a bit of unnecessary confusion and ambiguity. I was eventually able to make sense of all I've read so far, but not before reading other sections that presented the same information but phrased differently (and then managing to deduce meaning from the combination of both versions), or spending quite a bit of time puzzling over the meaning of various rules or just poorly presented information.

This is very sub-par for Onyx Path.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition Errata and FAQ
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Adventures for Curious Cats
by Patrick B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2020 15:36:58

3 scénarios bien cool constituent ce joli livre ! De quoi passer des heures de bon temps dans ce super univers de jeu !

(3 very cool scenarios in this really nice book ! Perfect to spend good time for hours and hours in this great game context !)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures for Curious Cats
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Order of Vaxx
by Patrick B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2020 15:23:56

Très courte extension mais sympa pour les personnages prêtres !

(Very short but cool expansion for the clerics characters)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Order of Vaxx
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Creator Reply:
Merci!
Lord Maximilian
by Patrick B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2020 15:21:01

Très court mais sympathique aide de jeu : un personnage non-joueur intéressant à employer !

(Very short but nice expansion : an interesting NPC !)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lord Maximilian
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Moose's Dossier of Heroes and Villains
by Patrick B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2020 04:05:40

Beaucoup de très bonne idées à utiliser dans ses propres campagnes dans cette belle gallerie de personnages ! Un supplément utile, et cool à lire ! (Lots of great ideas to use in your own campaign with this nice bunch of characters ! A usefull extension, and cool to read !)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Moose's Dossier of Heroes and Villains
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Adventurers, Acrobats, and Acolytes
by Patrick B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2020 03:56:47

Un petit supplément, mais très cool, qui donne des idées de scenario et une belle gallerie de personnages pré-tirés sympas à jouer en tant que personnage joueur ou non-joueur !

(A nice little extension, with few good ideas of scenaris and cool ready-to-play characters !)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers, Acrobats, and Acolytes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Mythical Denizens (A Collection of Antagonists for Scion Second Edition)
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2020 07:14:25

Mythical Denizens presenst an excellent collection of antagonists and inhabitants for the World. Each option presents story hooks, Storyguide tips, easy-to-use antagonist stats, and new rules when necessary. The antagonists come from a variety of myths associated with or adjacent to the pantheons presented in the core material for Scion 2nd Edition. The antagonists are divided into five types: Fair Folk, Giants, Therianthropes, Legendary Warriors, and Centaurs. However, they're not limited to the traditional representations. For example, a Tanuki trickster spirit from Japanese myth is presented in the section on the Fair Folk. The antagonists are presented with interesting nuance and story hooks for msot of them offer both sympathetic and antipathetic options for most of them that create interesting choices for Player Characters.

If I had one primary criticism, it would be that the supplement does not set out to do what I wanted it to do. I was hoping that for each antagonist type, we'd get some general information about what these denizens are like in the World and advise for creating your own. For the Fair Folk in particular, I was hoping to get a sense for their place in the setting. Only Centaurs get the braod treatment, which is really excellent in establishing their place in the World and its history. That said, I'm not deducting a point from my rating since this wasn't a promise of Mythical Denizens, merely my hope for it.

Overall, I'm very happy with this as bonus material from the Scion 2nd Edition Kickstarter. If I hadn't recieved it as a backer, I'd be willing to pay the $5 price tag to add it to my collection.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythical Denizens (A Collection of Antagonists for Scion Second Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

M20 Book of the Fallen
by greg m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2020 20:21:24

Overall, I liked the book and recommend it for anyone wanting to add depth and make Nephandi a terrifying picture. It was a good expansion on the Fallen and detailing them beyond shadowy villains. The only thing that I disliked was the seeming lumping together of Nephandi and the older style Infernalists. There seemed to be less of a distinction, with personal descent being akin to the Infernalists of previous additions. Nephandi are terrible people, but the personal descent made the Nephandi seem like less of a faction and more a moniker for terrible people who are mages.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
M20 Book of the Fallen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Silence of Our Ancestors: A Dragon-Blooded Novella
by German F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2020 17:33:28

The first thing that stood out to me about this book was its worldbuilding, showing one of the harshest parts of the exalted setting and how the people there built their lives, traditions and customs, and what happens when all those things are put in danger. The characters both Mortal and Exalted are compelling, and the author successfully weaves their differing perspectives into gripping drama throughout the story. You will care about these people by the end of this book.

While the worldbuilding and characters are the strongest part of the book, the action can sometimes come off as oddly paced, and the quick switching between perspectives can be unduly disorienting during fast-paced scenes, leaving you scrambling to place yourself in time and space for the first couple paragraphs after a switch, in addition some of the descriptions got a tad repetitive at times(prepare for a lot of mentions of inner fire). This does mean the latter part of the story feels a bit weaker than the earlier chapters, but by that point I was invested enough in the characters and their struggles to keep reading right through to the end.

All in all, a welcome addition to the world of Exalted, and a solid tale of adventure and friendship at the frigid edges of Creation.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Silence of Our Ancestors: A Dragon-Blooded Novella
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Demon Translation Guide
by Anton G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2020 19:50:53

EDIT (October 2019): After some reflection, I feel it necessary to amend that this review came from a place of frustration and disappointment. I stand by what I said (though I was wrong about the Lores, their entries DO include the relevant dice pools), but it's also fair to say I was rather hyperbolic. I still think that the supplement should have been given more attention, but I understand that the book had only one writer, and that OP is still growing as a company. That said, wouldn't mind seeing some updates to this product, if that's possible.

If you're a die-hard fan of Demon: the Fallen like I am, and practically had a heart attack when you saw that this was getting made, then let my words spare you the coronary: this thing's a bust. What we have here is a valiant, but ultimately slap-dash attempt to construct a translation guide that instead comes across as an incredibly one-sided and imbalanaced. It pains me to write this, as there are some solid things going on in the book, and some neat ideas in play, but Onyx Path simply didn't put in the effort necessary to make this what it needed to be. There is a lot to say, but I'll keep my critique to three main points.

  1. Poor organization: The TG attempts to give fluid rules for porting characters between systems, but unfortunately ends up creating a slurry of information, where Descent info blends together with Fallen info, making it hard to keep the two separarate. In addition, there are some strange redundancies with some things, particularly Merits (Pacts are still listed as a Merit, but that Merit has been replaced by the Thrall Merit, which is itself difficult to find). Further, none of the Lores have explicitly spelled-out dice pools, and attempting to decipher which Attributes and Skills are needed for each is tedious and inefficient. Overall, the book shoud have been organized with greater distinction.

  2. A lot of missing data: the TG covers character conversion and basic powers, but says nothing about some of the most critical systems from the old game, such as empowering Thralls, rituals from the old Player's Guide, or rules for exorcism and the devouring of demons by their peers post mortem. These missing pieces of info make attempting to run D:tF with the new rules incredily frustrating, as players have fewer rescources to give their characters, and STs will be left struggling to help their players complete common demon-related tasks.

  3. The Apocalyptic Powers: possibly the most infurating part of the whole book, instead of going through the Demon Player's Guide and methodically converting each power for the sake of clarity and conciseness, and perhaps altering or trimming some away to keep things clean and efficient, OP instead opted to simply convert some powers and treat the rest as rebranded versions of powers from D:tD. This causes a host of redundancies as well as some bizarre alterations to the designs of some powers that in no way mirrors their orginal function or intent, and can potentially derail a character concept. This is the most egregious sin, for not only does it make porting a character over incredibly messy, but it undermines Fallen in favor of keeping Descent at the fore, and makes it seem as though OP is putting Fallen in the backseat in favor of highlighting Descent.

In conclusion, the Demon Translation Guide is a competent work, and the rule conversions therein are a fitting update for bringing Fallen into the CoD system, but its glaring flaws and poor organization make it difficult to use at best, and an absolute nightmare at worst. I leave here an open statement to the staff at Onyx Path:

Dear Mss. and Messrs.,

I understand that creating works like this is a monumental undertaking, and your efforts must not be overlooked, but if you want to create something that fans will appreciate, and more importantly buy, you must ensure that the necessary effort is put into it. If this means putting more writers on the project, prolonging development, or even making a Kickstarter page for it, then do it, because I guarantee that a legion of loyal patrons and fans like myself are ready and willing to contribute to see the game we love so much be reborn, and you will enjoy both critical praise and financial success in the long-run.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Demon Translation Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Chicago Folios (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Richard J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2020 15:54:14

As a long term fan of Vampire: The Masquerade (got my first core book in 1993), this book has suitably impressed me.

Solid hooks that can be used to enhance your storytelling experience, great NPC write ups that could be easily ported to your own chronicle and solid loresheets to bring new connections to your PC's.

Matthew Dawkins is a solid writer who knows the WoD to a detail.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Chicago Folios (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Jose B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2020 08:54:50

This is a beatifully and well written supplement to Vampire the Masquerade's 5th edition by night series. Ive been comparing this to Chicago by Night 1e and Im telling you that the writers went in a direction that brings the setting to our modern nights; a new prince, a new primogen, old threats and new obstacles (Lasombra) make it a perfect combination for storytellers wanting a vast city as their stage. The Loresheets are uniquely 'Chicagoan' and full spreads on all the Kindred SPC's you could need. What I particularly love is that the book is written with the idea that your coterie will make an impact on this city and that is how a 'by Night' book should be writter; that and the fact that its obvious that the writers actually have been to Chicago or live there. Bravo!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Republican Pantheon
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2020 20:45:15

Not bad. I particularly liked the inclusion of Julius Caesar as a divine villain, I though that worked very well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Republican Pantheon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Silence of Our Ancestors: A Dragon-Blooded Novella
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2020 06:40:18

I've read most of the Exalted fiction and this one may well be my favorite. The characters are interesting, the author demonstrates a clear understanding of the game and setting without feeling like you can hear the dice clattering behind the pages, and the novala provides a look into a corner of Creation that hasn't seen a lot of attention. Highly recommended for anyone who wants to get a taste of Exalted adventure and a feel for the setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Silence of Our Ancestors: A Dragon-Blooded Novella
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Cavaliers of Mars Core Rulebook
by Guillaume R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2020 14:31:57

Cavaliers of Mars is a game of cooperative story-telling in the swashbuckling, high romance, high adventure setting of Dying Mars. It is not a traditional TTRPG; it does make an interesting sourcebook for TTRPGs.

The game consists of rolelplaying adventurers in order to accumulate Drama Points, which are used to either benefit a character or make alterations to the story. The GM has final discretion on all uses of Drama Points. When it works, players and the GM are effectively co-writing a story in real time, livened up with dice and strategic swashbuckling action. When it doesn't, players are combatting the GM to give advantages to their characters, while the GM feels obliged to shut down players' unbalanced input.

Example In SWADE, the GM might tell a player that they recognize a figure from their past in the crowd; in Cavaliers, the Player tells the GM that they recognizes a figure from their past in the crowd, and then the GM plays the figure. A story unfolds, directed by the GM but shaped and told by all involved.

As for the setting, it is delightful and draws heavily from the sci-fi romances of the mid 20th century. Flying ships, ghosts driven on the wind, duels at night beneath rainbow-colored lanterns, mysterious lost cities, mad cults...

One thing I disliked about Cavaliers is the demand that the GM be a writer, rather than a GM. What are the dangers of canal travel? Unknown. How much technology is actually understood? Not defined. What the heck is a "shipsling"? You'll never know - or rather, that's entirely up to you, and your story. Total creative freedom is probably appropriate for a cooperative writing game.

Addendum: complaints about the complexity of the rules are unfounded. This is a game about shared imagination and dramatic scenes. Action is cinematic, not strictly bound by hard rules - explain what exciting stunt the character does, realize there was a failure and make that exciting too. If someone is poring through the rules to gain advantage for their character... well, that person won't be a good Cavaliers player.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cavaliers of Mars Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1214 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates