DriveThruComics.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Mythical Denizens (A Collection of Antagonists for Scion Second Edition)
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/25/2020 07:14:25

Mythical Denizens presenst an excellent collection of antagonists and inhabitants for the World. Each option presents story hooks, Storyguide tips, easy-to-use antagonist stats, and new rules when necessary. The antagonists come from a variety of myths associated with or adjacent to the pantheons presented in the core material for Scion 2nd Edition. The antagonists are divided into five types: Fair Folk, Giants, Therianthropes, Legendary Warriors, and Centaurs. However, they're not limited to the traditional representations. For example, a Tanuki trickster spirit from Japanese myth is presented in the section on the Fair Folk. The antagonists are presented with interesting nuance and story hooks for msot of them offer both sympathetic and antipathetic options for most of them that create interesting choices for Player Characters.

If I had one primary criticism, it would be that the supplement does not set out to do what I wanted it to do. I was hoping that for each antagonist type, we'd get some general information about what these denizens are like in the World and advise for creating your own. For the Fair Folk in particular, I was hoping to get a sense for their place in the setting. Only Centaurs get the braod treatment, which is really excellent in establishing their place in the World and its history. That said, I'm not deducting a point from my rating since this wasn't a promise of Mythical Denizens, merely my hope for it.

Overall, I'm very happy with this as bonus material from the Scion 2nd Edition Kickstarter. If I hadn't recieved it as a backer, I'd be willing to pay the $5 price tag to add it to my collection.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythical Denizens (A Collection of Antagonists for Scion Second Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Silence of Our Ancestors: A Dragon-Blooded Novella
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/11/2020 06:40:18

I've read most of the Exalted fiction and this one may well be my favorite. The characters are interesting, the author demonstrates a clear understanding of the game and setting without feeling like you can hear the dice clattering behind the pages, and the novala provides a look into a corner of Creation that hasn't seen a lot of attention. Highly recommended for anyone who wants to get a taste of Exalted adventure and a feel for the setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Silence of Our Ancestors: A Dragon-Blooded Novella
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Ready....Fight! Micro-Supplement 02: Darius Whittaker
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2020 08:04:03

Keith Kapple continues to deliver excellent work for Ready....Fight! Darius has a great background a presonality present clearly for easy use in a game. While he's designed for Ready....Fight!, there's also advice for how to include him in other campaign settings. The supplement also offers a new talent and new unarmed combat attack type. The art and layout is superb and matches the style of the official Genasys products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ready....Fight! Micro-Supplement 02: Darius Whittaker
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Kiths of Arcadia
Publisher: White Wolf
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/10/2020 11:44:23

Kiths of Arcadia feels like part of the C20 line. Each of the kiths presented expands the array options for character creation. The writing, art, and production is top notch; you could put this next to any of the official C20 products and it would look the part. I especially like the new art for the ktihs. If I had one criticism, it would be that I would have loved a little more about how to incorporate these kiths into hte broader world of Changeling, especially given their roots in the card game. Definitely worth the price of admission!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kiths of Arcadia
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
Publisher: White Wolf
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2020 09:25:57

Ascension's Landscape reveles some of the knobs that let you customize the setting of your campaing with guided consideration. While the book is wrapped in Mage-purple, a lot of the content is relevant to any World of Darkness or Chronicles of Darkness game, asking you about the nature of darkness in your setting. The writing, especially the in-character quotations, displays the authors wit and presents interesting questions for Mages to consider.

The value of an RPG supplement is the conent, but the layout and art raise it to the level of a professional product. With a few new pieces of art and the excellent use of Mage templates and art assets, Ascension's Landscape looks and feels like a part of the line.

Overall, this supplement is definitely worth the five-dollar price tag if you play Mage.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ascension's Landscape: Setting Refinements and Story Hooks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Trinity Continuum: Aeon
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2019 15:41:10

Things I like:

  • Updates the first edition setting to present a more optomistic game for contemporary sensibilities
  • Setting offers multiple sci-fi subgenres and includes global coverage
  • Psi powers are flexible and accessible, even for starting characters
  • Psions get more working together than they can on their own
  • Offers a look into the setting secrets and future development of story hooks

Gripes:

  • No character creation summary
  • Character sheet does not adequetly cover everything you need to record for play

For my complete thoughts on Trinity Continuum: Aeon, you can find my podcast episode here: http://thestorytold.libsyn.com/episode-40-trinity-continuum-on-overview



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trinity Continuum: Aeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin (Phone Version)
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/25/2019 15:33:13

Caveats: I received a review copy of the phone PDF. I used the Books app on an iPhone X to work with the PDF. I'm also going to keep my review here to the format and usability of the phone version of Scion Origin. For my complete thoughts about the game, check out my full episode coverage: https://thestorytold.libsyn.com/episode-16-scion-2nd-edition-origin-overview. The short version is that I love Scion 2nd Edition!

I usually use a mix of physical books and my tablet to access RPG books. I find the physical book usually faster to reference during play, but prefer to sit and read with my tablet. I have occasionally downloaded full PDFs onto my phone for quick reference, but it's often a pain to navigate and deal with the zoom. A dedicated phone version of the PDF works to address readabilty and navigation while maintaining the vision of the original project. Overall, the phone version of Scion Oring succeeds at those requirements.

From a layout perspective, the PDF has a single column of text optomized to be a reasonable size on a phone screen. Looking through the content, I found no need to zoom in and move around on the individual plages, which was the biggest pain using a traditional PDF on my phone. The art appears as either half-page or full page images which don't break up the readability of the text. While it doesn't give complete the effect of the original book, I think it's as good as you could get on a phone and the art does look great.

Navigability and reference is the next area to look at for a phone PDF. This PDF has additional links added to the Table of Contents (ToC) which take you to the relevant sections of the book. From each page, there are additional links that can either take you directly to the ToC or back to whatever page you were on previously. This is especially useful because key terms in the text of the rules are links that take you to the relevant pages. This is especially well done for the antagonists. This makes it very quick to look up most information, especially to get to specific powers your characters has.

What are my gripes about this PDF? I have a few. First, I would have like even more in the ToC. Particulary, I would have like a glossary of rules terms that would take you to the right place in the book. For example, as a player, if I want to look up the specify rules for Enhancements, there's no direct link to get there. There's also no index, which could have potentialy served the same purpose. Additionally, the text linking to key terms is a little inconsistent. Some of the links are bold, but not all bold terms are links and not all links are bold, so it's hard to identify when you have a link and when you don't.

Overall, the question that I would need to ask is would I buy this given that I already have the physical and PDF versions of this book? And that's where I'm not 100% sure yet. To truly answer that, I'm going to have to try using this PDF during a game, which is when I think it's going to be most relevant. I mostly like the navigation and the readability is excellent.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin (Phone Version)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Masks: A New Generation
Publisher: Magpie Games
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2019 08:01:44

I have long been chacing the superhero RPG and Masks has become my favorite. Instead of focusing on extensive rules to emulate endless powers, Masks shifts the spotlight to the drama behind the characters. While it does ask you to buy into playing teens, the mechanics of the game support the over-the-top drama tropes.

For my complete thoughts, check out our podcast review: http://thestorytold.libsyn.com/episode-13-masks-overview-with-steven-pope



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masks: A New Generation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Hundred Devils Night Parade: Sky Titan and Storm Serpent
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2019 07:55:28

Storm Serpents were one of my favorite elementals from previous editions and I like to see the ranks of Exalted's dinosaurs increases. Given their usually limited lifespan, Strom Serpents make a great one-off, punch-you-in-the-face kind of threat. The art for the Sky Titan is a little wonky, but I can forgive that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hundred Devils Night Parade: Sky Titan and Storm Serpent
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Hundred Devils Night Parade: Makarios, the Sigil's Dreamer
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2019 07:52:30

Demons are some of the most interesting antagonists to me in Exalted and Makarios has some interesting hooks. His lack of physical existance is particularly ripe for ideas and leans into the weirdness that I expect out of demons in Exalted.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hundred Devils Night Parade: Makarios, the Sigil's Dreamer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

C20 Player's Guide
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/30/2019 15:21:02

This book expands the world of Changeling the Dreaming into lands not before explored in the context of the Dreaming and offers a bevvy of options for political play. For our complete thoughts, check out our podcast review: http://thestorytold.libsyn.com/episode-32-changeling-the-dreaming-20th-anniversary-edition-players-guide-review



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
C20 Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

The Realm
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2019 13:26:06

Overall, I love this book and my only real complaint is that I wished there was more! It's definitely worth knowing that this is a setting book, and has very little new mechanical content. That said, the setting material is awesome and definitely opens up the Blessed Isle and satrapies of the Realm for interesting play opportunities.

To hear my complete thoughts and a detailed look at the content chapter by chapter content, check out our review episode: http://thestorytold.libsyn.com/episode-32-exalted-the-realm-book-review



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Realm
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Scion Second Edition Book Two: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2019 12:04:43

Scion Hero takes what was great about the original game and updates in with more cultural awareness and modern gaming sensabilities. To check out our complte thoughts, check out our review episode: http://thestorytold.libsyn.com/episode-17-scion-hero-overview



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition Book Two: Hero
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2019 12:03:32

We love the updated and expanded setting presented in second edition. The storypath rules are great, though can be a little challenging to interpret in places. We would have loved a character creation summary. To hear our complete thoughts, check out our overview/review episode: http://thestorytold.libsyn.com/episode-16-scion-2nd-edition-origin-overview



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Changeling: the Lost Second Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/03/2019 15:55:53

Changeling the Lost Second Edition keeps everything great from the first edition, and refines or replaces any clunky systems with evocative narritive driven options that evoke the dark fairytale feel of the game. To here our complete thoughts, check out our audio overview: http://thestorytold.libsyn.com/episode-28-changeling-the-lost-2nd-edition-overview



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: the Lost Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruComics.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 29 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates